WRITE THE WORLD REVIEW 2019 (12).png

Creative Nonfiction

corey-agopian-257152-unsplash.jpg

by ELOISE DAVIS (United Kingdom)

November 2021

My dad and I have come to the mutual realisation that he can't force me to help him out in the garden. 

corey-agopian-257152-unsplash.jpg

by SHAYNA LENG (Singapore)

November 2021

Their shells pricked my fingers, the spikes digging tauntingly into my skin. 

corey-agopian-257152-unsplash.jpg

by EZIMADU UGORJI (Nigeria)

November 2021

The children call it "Reverend Father" because the flock of white feathers at its neck seems like the collar on a priest's black cloak. 

corey-agopian-257152-unsplash.jpg

by RUTH PAZ (Sweden)

November 2021

I don't even know if our sweet little lilac, right in the corner of the garden, still blooms in summer. 

corey-agopian-257152-unsplash.jpg

by IZRAHMAE SUICO (The Philippines)

November 2021

A falling star taught her how to wish, but a falling star apple trunk taught her something else. 

corey-agopian-257152-unsplash.jpg

by AASHNA PAWAR (United States)

November 2021

It was the boys' table at lunch. They were all in my grade, some of them my friends. 

corey-agopian-257152-unsplash.jpg

by ELIZABETH BUNTIN (United States)

April 2019

There is a certain inscrutability in the mercurial ebb and flow of life in the woods, an unassuming cadence that settles just beyond my naive circumspection. The dry sweep of the wind’s touch is fond and insidious in turns . . .

corey-agopian-257152-unsplash.jpg

by ANNIE CHENG (United States)

April 2019

You always liked to watch the trains as they passed by, one after another, right on schedule. You liked the whooshing sound of the breaks as the train slowed into the station, and the whirring of the engine as it started up again.

corey-agopian-257152-unsplash.jpg

by ROSALEEN SWEITI (United States)

September 2019

There's a sort of spell that falls over the dinner table as we wait for the athan to sound.

corey-agopian-257152-unsplash.jpg

by MELISSA XU (United States)

September 2019

I grew up eating an excessive amount of eggs. Actually, that’s a little misleading.

corey-agopian-257152-unsplash.jpg

by AKILAH NORTHERN (United States)

September 2019

“Black people don’t eat sushi.” He said it while I was in the middle of filling a bowl with grits . .

corey-agopian-257152-unsplash.jpg

by SAACHI GUPTA (India)

December 2019

There’s a moment in kindergarten when I realize that the other grandparents don’t smile.

corey-agopian-257152-unsplash.jpg

by JONATHAN HUANG (Taiwan)

December 2019

My teacher, Ms. Waterson, wore glasses, and I kept an earnest gaze on them as I spoke . . .

corey-agopian-257152-unsplash.jpg

by MERIT ONYEKWERE (United States)

December 2019

When Uchechi’s voice crackles with laughter and her almond brown eyes crease . . .

corey-agopian-257152-unsplash.jpg

by KAREN UMEORA (United States)

April 2020

My mom got me a goldfish. I didn't even want it. She told me it'd teach me diligence

corey-agopian-257152-unsplash.jpg

by AMALIA COSTA (United Kingdom)

April 2020

We act like we're pleasantly thrust together instead of a family bound by grief and love. 

corey-agopian-257152-unsplash.jpg

by TULA SINGER (Cuba)

August 2020

My mother came into the kitchen with a blank face. "We're leaving," she said. "We're going to move in with Ahmad in New York." 

corey-agopian-257152-unsplash.jpg

by ELOISE DAVIS (United Kingdom)

December 2020

Throughout my many travels, to all sorts of exotic lands, never before have I seen a diet so extraordinary as that of the snamuh.

corey-agopian-257152-unsplash.jpg

by PIPPI JEAN (New Zealand)

December 2020

Of all the swimmer summer and the dust, sun, rain, you are what sticks out. 

corey-agopian-257152-unsplash.jpg

by TUNA SAGDAN (Turkey)

April 2021

As a child, my relationship with my dad was very straightforward. I'd ask him for something and he'd say "yes" or "no." 

corey-agopian-257152-unsplash.jpg

by FIONA MADSEN (United States)

April 2021

I am coming of age in a world that doesn't make sense to me. I will turn eighteen quietly, without a party, without my extended family. 

corey-agopian-257152-unsplash.jpg

by KOBY CHEN (Canada)

April 2021

When my mother and father had left for the west, they brought few things with them. 

corey-agopian-257152-unsplash.jpg

by TULA SINGER (Cuba)

April 2021

The embassy called and approved our request to leave the country. So we packed our clothes and a couple of other essentials, leaving the rest behind.