WRITE THE WORLD REVIEW 2019 (12).png

United Kingdom

corey-agopian-257152-unsplash.jpg

by ELOISE DAVIS (United Kingdom)

November 2021

My dad and I have come to the mutual realisation that he can't force me to help him out in the garden. 

corey-agopian-257152-unsplash.jpg

by ELOISE DAVIS (United Kingdom)

December 2020

Throughout my many travels, to all sorts of exotic lands, never before have I seen a diet so extraordinary as that of the snamuh.

corey-agopian-257152-unsplash.jpg

by MILI THAKRAR (United Kingdom)

September 2021

Discussing racism is of paramount importance; it is also a sensitive and controversial issue. 


corey-agopian-257152-unsplash.jpg

by BETHANY ADDO-SMITH (United Kingdom)

July 2021

I drink the elderflower air, 

poured by the 4am sky

corey-agopian-257152-unsplash.jpg

by RUTH PORT (United Kingdom)

April 2021

Green are the strands of the winner's laurel;

green is the step of his podium as he stares over the crowd

corey-agopian-257152-unsplash.jpg

by AMALIA COSTA (United Kingdom)

August 2020

We come in droves, frothing at the mouth and baying for blood.

Our enemy invisible, stretched across the world like the taut skin of a drum. 

corey-agopian-257152-unsplash.jpg

by EVE DONALDSON (United Kingdom)

April 2020

"But Dad, a dog is the animal for me - 

I'll take him for walks and I'll make him his tea."

corey-agopian-257152-unsplash.jpg

by AMALIA COSTA (United Kingdom)

April 2020

We act like we're pleasantly thrust together instead of a family bound by grief and love. 

corey-agopian-257152-unsplash.jpg

by RUTH PORT (United Kingdom)

April 2019

1. Come On Eileen, Dexys Midnight Runners

What can I say? As soon as this comes on you're grabbing my hands and spinning me around with that beautiful smile on your face and that joyful laugh rising in your throat.

corey-agopian-257152-unsplash.jpg

by ROSIE JONES (United Kingdom)

April 2019

A poem is when a scattering of swallows suddenly form a perfect v.

A poem is the angle which makes dew on a rose petal look like diamonds.

corey-agopian-257152-unsplash.jpg

by NATHAN BROOKS (United Kingdom)

April 2019

It’s tempting to compare The Favourite, the latest film from Greek director Yorgos Lanthimos, to the present state of world leadership; this pitch-black comedy of manners is set in the court of eighteenth-century monarch Queen Anne . . .

corey-agopian-257152-unsplash.jpg

by ANNA DAVIDSON (United Kingdom)

April 2019

Teenagers are the ones who change history. They have to be. It’s kids with lumps in their throats, bright blue sparks in their fingertips and purple-braced snarls screaming for equality who are the ones who achieve it, their words the upbeat crashdrum of change.