WtW Review(9).png

Algebraic Fracture

by Teresa Ng (Aotearoa/New Zealand)

July 2022

Write the World Review

Audio: "Algebraic Fracture," read by Teresa Ng

The fire went down,
down,
and out
Of my toes
After Screeching past my knees and pacing my veins

It took its time at first but then said “Screw it” and surprised me

I double over and Topple down,
down,
and through To somewhere I Shouldn’t be

Sugary tears leak out of every crack and
Pen mark in the bathroom Wall

And I feel Perfectly
Alright again

Back to class back to work back to Overwhelming Information
Back to my classmates staring through my Soul and into my fears and Dreams

“We’re going over question 3a.”

“Oh—thank you”

And I sink down,
down,
and into
The pages of the
Gamma Mathematics (third edition) Workbook.

If I had 3 shots of espresso and the background noise of the earth multiplied my anxiety by 4000, how many panic attacks did I have by class 5?

The answer is just 1, but it was enough to make my chinese calligraphy go
wobbly on the page








Teresa Ng, 15, is a poet from Aotearoa who looks to convey raw emotion in her writing. Her poetry arises when she spins her experiences into beautiful words—something she wishes she could do in real life.

Are you a young writer who wants to be published in Write the World Review, or is there a young writer in your life (relative, friend) who should be published in Write the World Review? Learn how here!

Syeda

8/9/22, 5:01 PM

It was very wholesome🥰🥰

Zainab Aliahmed

8/8/22, 5:11 PM

Amazing 😀

Keren

7/28/22, 4:37 PM

Really wonderful piece here.

7/11/22, 1:28 PM

Emma

7/8/22, 8:00 AM

Wow. These words hit hard for me, as I has the same experience recently. I really love how you described the feelings and the ending was really amazing. This helped me a lot. Just wow.
I hope you keep on writing.

Vivian

6/26/22, 1:46 PM

Wow you are so talented! I relate this a lot to my paternal grandfather who passed away two years ago and is very similar to yours. Sometimes family can judge you but I agree you should learn to live in the present and be happy with out having a fancy job/being married. Keep up the great work!

Ediomo Bright

6/22/22, 8:15 PM

You've done a wonderful job here.
Your intricate descriptions of the race and the emotions conferred by it is excellent.
Thank you!

6/22/22, 8:13 PM

Ediomo Bright

6/22/22, 8:09 PM

You've done a beautiful work here.
The flow of the story, the gripping emotions it enthralls the reader with, it's very wonderful.
Thank you for this.

Anonymous

6/18/22, 6:08 AM

This write-up is absolutely amazing. It made me realize why I am who I am, and I could also relate a lot. Hope you never stop writing, and I hope to read a full-length book from you soon!<3

ANSHIKA

6/17/22, 2:50 AM

It was so good to read..i really liked the description the storyline ,the plot ,everything 👍

Sanvi

6/7/22, 3:25 PM

This piece is a beautiful reminder of how ugly teenage years can be. It's real and it hurts but it's so good. Please never stop writing!