WtW Review(9).png

Among the Meadows

by Rosie Jones (Wales)

July 2021

Write the World Review

Audio: "Among the Meadows," read by Rosie Jones

Below

the cherry blossom clouds—amongst the bowing heads—of daisies and—the beat of bees
lies
a gravestone with a name that—

i cannot quite read.


the moss climbs—upon its face and—the ants flock around its base and—
i settle down against the grass

singing songs of presentPast.


beside

a deep azure tree—nestled atop the gentle fronds—of lilac grass and—summer wine
i lie
heather heavy breathe

high
and on the scent of
Time.


Rosie Jones is a 17-year-old student who once wrote “wanabe aurthor,” bad spelling and all, on the edges of a Jacqueline Wilson novel. Now she has settled on writing messy poetry and prose, not for destiny or dreams, but simply because thoughts spill out of her in written form.

#Nature          #Environment          #Memory

Are you a young writer who wants to be published in Write the World Review, or is there a young writer in your life (relative, friend) who should be published in Write the World Review? Learn how here!

Vivian

6/26/22, 1:46 PM

Wow you are so talented! I relate this a lot to my paternal grandfather who passed away two years ago and is very similar to yours. Sometimes family can judge you but I agree you should learn to live in the present and be happy with out having a fancy job/being married. Keep up the great work!

Ediomo Bright

6/22/22, 8:15 PM

You've done a wonderful job here.
Your intricate descriptions of the race and the emotions conferred by it is excellent.
Thank you!

6/22/22, 8:13 PM

Ediomo Bright

6/22/22, 8:09 PM

You've done a beautiful work here.
The flow of the story, the gripping emotions it enthralls the reader with, it's very wonderful.
Thank you for this.

Anonymous

6/18/22, 6:08 AM

This write-up is absolutely amazing. It made me realize why I am who I am, and I could also relate a lot. Hope you never stop writing, and I hope to read a full-length book from you soon!<3

ANSHIKA

6/17/22, 2:50 AM

It was so good to read..i really liked the description the storyline ,the plot ,everything 👍

Sanvi

6/7/22, 3:25 PM

This piece is a beautiful reminder of how ugly teenage years can be. It's real and it hurts but it's so good. Please never stop writing!

Sanvi

6/7/22, 3:15 PM

Your description of the change and how sometimes our parents don't have words to tell us that they love us and use material things as a substitute is relatable. My family has never really been open about their feelings but we show our love through little things and that's why it hit so close to home. I love this piece! Keep up your amazing work!

Ananya

5/30/22, 9:05 PM

This was beautifully written.

Xxx

5/25/22, 11:06 AM

Where to read the further story??

Allana Frost

5/25/22, 2:45 AM

This is incredible and heartbreaking and real. I’m glad I stopped to read :)

Jennny

5/24/22, 12:26 PM

I love the way you wrote the story. The fine description of the burn in thighs made it relatable 😳. Pls keep up your amazing work!! :)