WtW Review(9).png

Archipelago

by Davin Faris (US)

July 2022

Write the World Review

Audio: "Archipelago," read by Davin Faris

The air wept to welcome us
or name us a siege.

From the sky I saw endless gray rivers,
older than the cliché of arteries

and even miles beneath us, I could still pick out
the sand bars barely submerged, the roil of sediment.

Over ocean, the clouds became our islands.
Imagine a fairy tale archipelago, all cotton soft—

sometimes fables and lies are no less true.
The blue heartbreak of water might be the sky, which blackens, too.

But my favorite part of flight is the descent, the landing
when the miracle is undone

and everything returns to pumpkinseeds and mice,
quilts of land and stitched roads. A wash of red rooftops.

Only the air is made new. Wracked by salt
and sun burnt,

thick as tide, it sweeps past palms and calls to us:
You, you are the stranger here.

You are the miracle in this ocean.
You are the lie.








Davin Faris, 16, is a student, climate justice organizer, and writer of poetry and fiction. He lives in Maryland.

Are you a young writer who wants to be published in Write the World Review, or is there a young writer in your life (relative, friend) who should be published in Write the World Review? Learn how here!

Syeda

8/9/22, 5:01 PM

It was very wholesome🥰🥰

Zainab Aliahmed

8/8/22, 5:11 PM

Amazing 😀

Keren

7/28/22, 4:37 PM

Really wonderful piece here.

7/11/22, 1:28 PM

Emma

7/8/22, 8:00 AM

Wow. These words hit hard for me, as I has the same experience recently. I really love how you described the feelings and the ending was really amazing. This helped me a lot. Just wow.
I hope you keep on writing.

Vivian

6/26/22, 1:46 PM

Wow you are so talented! I relate this a lot to my paternal grandfather who passed away two years ago and is very similar to yours. Sometimes family can judge you but I agree you should learn to live in the present and be happy with out having a fancy job/being married. Keep up the great work!

Ediomo Bright

6/22/22, 8:15 PM

You've done a wonderful job here.
Your intricate descriptions of the race and the emotions conferred by it is excellent.
Thank you!

6/22/22, 8:13 PM

Ediomo Bright

6/22/22, 8:09 PM

You've done a beautiful work here.
The flow of the story, the gripping emotions it enthralls the reader with, it's very wonderful.
Thank you for this.

Anonymous

6/18/22, 6:08 AM

This write-up is absolutely amazing. It made me realize why I am who I am, and I could also relate a lot. Hope you never stop writing, and I hope to read a full-length book from you soon!<3

ANSHIKA

6/17/22, 2:50 AM

It was so good to read..i really liked the description the storyline ,the plot ,everything 👍

Sanvi

6/7/22, 3:25 PM

This piece is a beautiful reminder of how ugly teenage years can be. It's real and it hurts but it's so good. Please never stop writing!