Destiny

WtW Review(9).png

by Teren Lee (Malaysia)

April 2021

Write the World Review

Audio: "Destiny" read by Teren Lee

Can the pearl headlands,
with their striped cliff-side rock,
understand that their life is one that will end?
Have moths ever burned like Icarus,
encased in what they love,
when they brushed against the sun?
Will a caterpillar gasping
its last bejewelled breaths
ever know if it'll fly?
If two beings collided a split
second earlier, would the world
be the same?

Teren Lee, age 17 and smitten by numbers and words, draws inspiration from the world taught in classrooms and the vibrant cities she calls home. She’s honoured to have one of her pieces published in "Write the World Review."

Zen

9/23/21, 7:15 PM

The last sentence, "Hush, hush, hush, you're not alone, adds a nice ending to the poem. I like the ambiguity.

Hailey

8/10/21, 3:55 PM

That was so beautiful

Clare

8/4/21, 11:01 AM

Ah Tiffany - I LOVE this piece, and the ending.. it's so powerful and incredibly moving. Well done!

Clare

8/4/21, 11:00 AM

Well done Chris! I feel like I am right there in the street.. such a beautiful use of language in this poem.

Clare

8/4/21, 10:59 AM

Ah what a beautiful piece.. I can feel the promise in this morning.. like I do on summer mornings where I live. Beautifully read too!

7/30/21, 7:24 PM

Gorjus

Fi

7/27/21, 6:01 PM

This is beautiful, I love your use of onomatopoeia

Afreen Shanavas

7/23/21, 12:22 PM

Brilliantly articulated!

yadhut

7/21/21, 3:37 PM

wow awesome!

Amritha

7/21/21, 1:23 PM

Pain and nostalgia conveyed beautifully!

Adrisha

7/21/21, 8:35 AM

This is an amazing poem! The mixed feelings we have when we leave our home or city we grew is beautifully portrayed

Paisley Blue

7/21/21, 12:22 AM

Absolutely stunning, the detail and diction is incredible.