top of page
WtW Review(9).png

Library

by Lauren Teh (United Arab Emirates)

July 2021

Write the World Review

Audio: "Library," read by Lauren Teh

Soft sliding susurrations, light lift of page,

A sigh, a huff, a breath, murmurs in the murky quiet,

Rustling, shuffling, low thunder of a rolling ladder,

A blurted sentence, shhh, muffling curtain of silence.

Broken intermittently with creaks of rusted lamp joints, squealing—

Footsteps, echoing down the aisles, ricocheting off the high ceiling arches

Tuff, tuff, tuff, hush! Absorbed by fabric-bound spines, standing proud,

Lined up on infinite shelves, yawning down the literary corridor of the ages—

Clatter of a dropped pen, careless student cramming, crying indistinguishably.

The books bend close, whispering inaudibly little nothings of comfort:

Hush, hush, hush, you’re not alone.


Lauren Teh is a 15-year-old writer from Singapore. Born, raised, and currently based in Abu Dhabi, capital of the United Arab Emirates, Lauren is a huge bookworm and loves to write short stories, essays, and half-hatched novels with a touch of magic and a good sprinkle of wordplay shenanigans. In her poem “Library,” she attempts to recreate the quiet yet vibrant atmosphere of a library and provide some assurance to the terrified students like herself.

#Home          #Books

Are you a young writer who wants to be published in Write the World Review, or is there a young writer in your life (relative, friend) who should be published in Write the World Review? Learn how here!

Lauren hudd

2/3/23, 12:21 AM

Reading this story was realistic and relatble

Ellen

2/2/23, 11:27 AM

"I collected little glimpses of the north to hoard away for the future, like treasure" is such a beautiful line!

Ellen

2/2/23, 11:23 AM

What a fascinating piece!

2/2/23, 5:21 AM

One of my favorite pieces ever published on Write the World!

clare

2/2/23, 4:41 AM

Well done Everett on this powerful piece. I hope you continue to write!

Clare

2/2/23, 4:40 AM

Well done Genevieve - what a beautiful and evocative piece of writing!

1/17/23, 2:15 AM

This is so beautiful

Poemsforsleeplesssouls

1/16/23, 3:52 PM

I love all of it. It’s so real and so many feelings are there.

Ande

1/5/23, 6:02 PM

This is amazing. Do not ever stop. That is really inspirational, the whole writing piece made me want to help.

Minaxi

1/3/23, 7:19 PM

This article was absolutely amazing! I am so thankful to live in a country where periods and sex are fairly normalized, but I will never forget to educate myself about the lack of education others have. It pains me to know that in countries like India, girls are still put down about what they where and how they act. It was very brave of you to share your voice, and I commend you endlessly for that.

Brooke

12/8/22, 7:25 PM

I really love this! I, myself, am not black, but I know of a lot of good black people. Sadly, I will admit, at one time, I used to think of a black community filled with gangs and poverty. But I know now how perfectly capable it is to live together if only we got rid of the stereotype that is so, so wrong. I do hope you accomplish this. This will great for our country.

Sorry but can't share the name

12/7/22, 10:40 AM

Basically I don't know how to react.
All the conservatives should be reading this.........

bottom of page