top of page
WtW Review(9).png

Ode to a Curtain

by Nura Orooji  (South Africa)

July 2021

Write the World Review

Audio: "Ode to a Curtain," read by Nura Orooji

Waterfalls of cream and white
with leafy laced foam,
how you flutter in the breeze with not a sound or a moan.
Shut out the dark or shut out the light.

So dainty and graceful you twirl in the wind.
Silk,
cotton,
chiffon,
and velvet.
Cascades of wealth hidden away in the corners of windows.

Loyal and true,
they keep all your secrets and from the darkness shield you.
Ode to the curtain
delicate and strong,
may moths spare your satin and chiffon.



Nura Orooji is a 17-year-old who loves her small mountain town where the chance of running into someone you know is always high. Nura loves to be creative: whether that's writing, painting, drawing, baking, or dancing. She spends her time quietly observing and watching the world go by. An ideal day is one spent on a sunny patch of grass in the garden or on a seaside rock, where the waves crash and splash your face, with a good book or a good friend. And she always keeps a notebook handy, because "You never know when a good idea will pop into your head!"

Are you a young writer who wants to be published in Write the World Review, or is there a young writer in your life (relative, friend) who should be published in Write the World Review? Learn how here!

Lauren hudd

2/3/23, 12:21 AM

Reading this story was realistic and relatble

Ellen

2/2/23, 11:27 AM

"I collected little glimpses of the north to hoard away for the future, like treasure" is such a beautiful line!

Ellen

2/2/23, 11:23 AM

What a fascinating piece!

2/2/23, 5:21 AM

One of my favorite pieces ever published on Write the World!

clare

2/2/23, 4:41 AM

Well done Everett on this powerful piece. I hope you continue to write!

Clare

2/2/23, 4:40 AM

Well done Genevieve - what a beautiful and evocative piece of writing!

1/17/23, 2:15 AM

This is so beautiful

Poemsforsleeplesssouls

1/16/23, 3:52 PM

I love all of it. It’s so real and so many feelings are there.

Ande

1/5/23, 6:02 PM

This is amazing. Do not ever stop. That is really inspirational, the whole writing piece made me want to help.

Minaxi

1/3/23, 7:19 PM

This article was absolutely amazing! I am so thankful to live in a country where periods and sex are fairly normalized, but I will never forget to educate myself about the lack of education others have. It pains me to know that in countries like India, girls are still put down about what they where and how they act. It was very brave of you to share your voice, and I commend you endlessly for that.

Brooke

12/8/22, 7:25 PM

I really love this! I, myself, am not black, but I know of a lot of good black people. Sadly, I will admit, at one time, I used to think of a black community filled with gangs and poverty. But I know now how perfectly capable it is to live together if only we got rid of the stereotype that is so, so wrong. I do hope you accomplish this. This will great for our country.

Sorry but can't share the name

12/7/22, 10:40 AM

Basically I don't know how to react.
All the conservatives should be reading this.........

bottom of page