WtW Review(9).png

Ode to a Curtain

by Nura Orooji  (South Africa)

July 2021

Write the World Review

Audio: "Ode to a Curtain," read by Nura Orooji

Waterfalls of cream and white
with leafy laced foam,
how you flutter in the breeze with not a sound or a moan.
Shut out the dark or shut out the light.

So dainty and graceful you twirl in the wind.
Silk,
cotton,
chiffon,
and velvet.
Cascades of wealth hidden away in the corners of windows.

Loyal and true,
they keep all your secrets and from the darkness shield you.
Ode to the curtain
delicate and strong,
may moths spare your satin and chiffon.



Nura Orooji is a 17-year-old who loves her small mountain town where the chance of running into someone you know is always high. Nura loves to be creative: whether that's writing, painting, drawing, baking, or dancing. She spends her time quietly observing and watching the world go by. An ideal day is one spent on a sunny patch of grass in the garden or on a seaside rock, where the waves crash and splash your face, with a good book or a good friend. And she always keeps a notebook handy, because "You never know when a good idea will pop into your head!"

Are you a young writer who wants to be published in Write the World Review, or is there a young writer in your life (relative, friend) who should be published in Write the World Review? Learn how here!

Satta matka - 7389296790 India single jodi

5/18/22, 11:43 PM

Fix Kalyan matka jodi penal ke liye call kare and join us at <a href="https://indianmatka.today/">Satta matka</a>

Alefiya

5/17/22, 4:27 PM

Beautiful

Sweety

5/16/22, 11:40 AM

I am waiting with anxiety what does she doesto fight back these things which are very complicate to handle for a teenager...... I am Very anxious because I am in the same situation..... So I want to know what will she do.....

Somma

5/15/22, 3:16 PM

This is such a wonderful piece. I love it so much!

Rain Wind Thunderstorm

5/13/22, 10:46 AM

You are really good at writing. And at such a young age! If you don't mind me saying so, your writing style is warm and cozy. And also at the same time, very deep, meaningful and relatable. I especially loved the "The Reflection" part.

Sierra

5/13/22, 9:28 AM

I really wanna know what does she does to fight back these things which are hard to handle for a teenager.

Mira

5/11/22, 2:37 PM

I loved every word of this. Maybe because I am relating too hard. I hardly possess any of the love or filial piety I am expected to have towards my family. I am dubious of anything my grandmother says to me and have long learned to just swallow it all with a smile though I question how much I know. And. Just. Knowing. That you will be forgotten by your extended family for the rest of the year but still held up to their expectations. Thank you for writing this! I'll always remember a beautiful #ownvoices story :).

Srishti Roy

5/10/22, 6:57 AM

I really am curious about how she is gonna fight this situation and will she be able to fulfill her dreams which she once had

Alena

5/6/22, 2:03 PM

Ooh I really love this! What a great ending too. Fellow students, we've got this!

Alena

5/6/22, 1:53 PM

I love this piece so much. Novels and writing rarely makes me cry, but this was just too relatable.

Alena

5/6/22, 1:51 PM

This was so beautiful, and created such a detailed image in my mind!

glitterdays

5/6/22, 11:35 AM

I thought that was a truly insightful piece. As a teen writer myself, your words were a refreshing reminder of the meaning behind adolescence. Thank you for bringing your writing into the world, and hope to see more of it soon.