WtW Review(9).png

Ode to a Curtain

by Nura Orooji  (South Africa)

July 2021

Write the World Review

Audio: "Ode to a Curtain," read by Nura Orooji

Waterfalls of cream and white
with leafy laced foam,
how you flutter in the breeze with not a sound or a moan.
Shut out the dark or shut out the light.

So dainty and graceful you twirl in the wind.
Silk,
cotton,
chiffon,
and velvet.
Cascades of wealth hidden away in the corners of windows.

Loyal and true,
they keep all your secrets and from the darkness shield you.
Ode to the curtain
delicate and strong,
may moths spare your satin and chiffon.



Nura Orooji is a 17-year-old who loves her small mountain town where the chance of running into someone you know is always high. Nura loves to be creative: whether that's writing, painting, drawing, baking, or dancing. She spends her time quietly observing and watching the world go by. An ideal day is one spent on a sunny patch of grass in the garden or on a seaside rock, where the waves crash and splash your face, with a good book or a good friend. And she always keeps a notebook handy, because "You never know when a good idea will pop into your head!"

Are you a young writer who wants to be published in Write the World Review, or is there a young writer in your life (relative, friend) who should be published in Write the World Review? Learn how here!

Tom Lofft

9/24/22, 2:13 PM

Was this inspired by flights over Iceland?

Sydney

9/24/22, 10:04 AM

Amazing. I love it.

Allison

9/23/22, 7:34 AM

This is just so good!!!! "The air has been poisoned' I love how you describe things! Congrats :))

Allison

9/23/22, 7:32 AM

Love the message! The way you prompt the readers to rethink over 'is anything free' is so effective and the ending is...gorgeous.

Allison

9/23/22, 7:30 AM

Gosh, Antara...this is really beautiful! I love your use of language, and the anecdotes were so effective!! Congrats so much :))

Nidhi Kamalapurkar

9/22/22, 9:30 PM

I love it! Especially the part where you say if humans can control the world, they can control themselves too!
Keep up the brilliant writing!

Evelyn

9/22/22, 5:22 PM

Poignant and so beautifully written!

Evelyn

9/22/22, 5:19 PM

I love the flow, this is gorgeously written! Great piece!

Evelyn

9/22/22, 5:17 PM

Life really is all about the little things and you wrote about them in a beautiful way!

Evelyn

9/22/22, 5:16 PM

This is a lovely piece, Keren-Happuch! It provokes such a magical and dreamy feeling.

VM

9/19/22, 5:47 PM

Oh my god, the part about changing the mindset given the pre-existing beliefs drilled in by those around us... Even we often hesitate to have these conversations at times amongst friends as this topic is seldom more than a subject of twss jokes. You put it into words brilliantly!

Avisha M

9/17/22, 6:46 PM

this was thought-provoking! I particularly enjoyed how you connected existentialism to the topic. it provides a different perspective.