top of page
WtW Review(9).png

Perennial Sweet Alyssum

by Jonathan Charles Stephens (United States)

November 2021

Write the World Review

Audio: "Perennial Sweet Alyssum," read by Jonathan Charles Stephens

Frantically bloom in that certain spring room
whilst flurries spackle in a somewhat summer's heat,
the autumn dew refracts your leaved cheek—
such seasons never quite pass.

Ingrain yourself in a wild honey;
flail a standing ovation with petaled hands

All to beckon for that springs’ encore.

Five too many seasons passed that year
all of which
felt wasted and drowned
in the sweltering winter.

Continue to bloom
passionately evergreen
to maybe become
unlike this inconspicuous season.



Footnote:

Alyssum are a kind of flowering plant that are considered perennial. They can survive a light frost and spread in their small-chested wingspan. Thus, they tend to work as a subtle background texture to other plants, elevating the arrangement or natural occurrence through quiet competence.




Jonathan Charles Stephens, age 17, lives in New Jersey and spends his time hula hooping, collecting flowers to press, telling jokes, and writing about the world around him. With this poem he aimed to articulate his pandemic experience and hopes that you will find meaning both in and beyond that frame.

#Nature         #Environment

Are you a young writer who wants to be published in Write the World Review, or is there a young writer in your life (relative, friend) who should be published in Write the World Review? Learn how here!

Lauren hudd

2/3/23, 12:21 AM

Reading this story was realistic and relatble

Ellen

2/2/23, 11:27 AM

"I collected little glimpses of the north to hoard away for the future, like treasure" is such a beautiful line!

Ellen

2/2/23, 11:23 AM

What a fascinating piece!

2/2/23, 5:21 AM

One of my favorite pieces ever published on Write the World!

clare

2/2/23, 4:41 AM

Well done Everett on this powerful piece. I hope you continue to write!

Clare

2/2/23, 4:40 AM

Well done Genevieve - what a beautiful and evocative piece of writing!

1/17/23, 2:15 AM

This is so beautiful

Poemsforsleeplesssouls

1/16/23, 3:52 PM

I love all of it. It’s so real and so many feelings are there.

Ande

1/5/23, 6:02 PM

This is amazing. Do not ever stop. That is really inspirational, the whole writing piece made me want to help.

Minaxi

1/3/23, 7:19 PM

This article was absolutely amazing! I am so thankful to live in a country where periods and sex are fairly normalized, but I will never forget to educate myself about the lack of education others have. It pains me to know that in countries like India, girls are still put down about what they where and how they act. It was very brave of you to share your voice, and I commend you endlessly for that.

Brooke

12/8/22, 7:25 PM

I really love this! I, myself, am not black, but I know of a lot of good black people. Sadly, I will admit, at one time, I used to think of a black community filled with gangs and poverty. But I know now how perfectly capable it is to live together if only we got rid of the stereotype that is so, so wrong. I do hope you accomplish this. This will great for our country.

Sorry but can't share the name

12/7/22, 10:40 AM

Basically I don't know how to react.
All the conservatives should be reading this.........

bottom of page