top of page
WtW Review(9).png

The Ladies Stardust

by Kessler Shumate (United States)

November 2021

Write the World Review

Audio: "The Ladies Stardust," read by Anna Gibbs

August is tangible tonight, Wendy thought, bus ticket cutting her palm.

“I’ll visit. It’s California,” Robin said matter-of-factly. “They’ll have something I like.”

“I’ll find it for you,” Wendy said.

Robin grinned, and Wendy’s heart stuttered.

“Alright?” Robin asked. Front porch shadows painted Robin’s cheeks, her baby hairs teased by humidity. Ziggy Stardust verses drifted in hallowed memories. It sat in a box downstairs with records that prompted Hail Marys from family, smiles from Robin.

You listen for pleasure to some songs, for pain to others, Robin had said. Which was this?

“Alright,” Wendy responded. If their goodbye was “see you tomorrow,” so be it.




Kessler Shumate, age 18, is a freshman at the College of William & Mary. She plans on majoring in biology but also has a love for film, music, and books. This piece is loosely inspired by David Bowie's "The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders from Mars" and the universal nostalgia and longing we weave into music.

Are you a young writer who wants to be published in Write the World Review, or is there a young writer in your life (relative, friend) who should be published in Write the World Review? Learn how here!

Lauren hudd

2/3/23, 12:21 AM

Reading this story was realistic and relatble

Ellen

2/2/23, 11:27 AM

"I collected little glimpses of the north to hoard away for the future, like treasure" is such a beautiful line!

Ellen

2/2/23, 11:23 AM

What a fascinating piece!

2/2/23, 5:21 AM

One of my favorite pieces ever published on Write the World!

clare

2/2/23, 4:41 AM

Well done Everett on this powerful piece. I hope you continue to write!

Clare

2/2/23, 4:40 AM

Well done Genevieve - what a beautiful and evocative piece of writing!

1/17/23, 2:15 AM

This is so beautiful

Poemsforsleeplesssouls

1/16/23, 3:52 PM

I love all of it. It’s so real and so many feelings are there.

Ande

1/5/23, 6:02 PM

This is amazing. Do not ever stop. That is really inspirational, the whole writing piece made me want to help.

Minaxi

1/3/23, 7:19 PM

This article was absolutely amazing! I am so thankful to live in a country where periods and sex are fairly normalized, but I will never forget to educate myself about the lack of education others have. It pains me to know that in countries like India, girls are still put down about what they where and how they act. It was very brave of you to share your voice, and I commend you endlessly for that.

Brooke

12/8/22, 7:25 PM

I really love this! I, myself, am not black, but I know of a lot of good black people. Sadly, I will admit, at one time, I used to think of a black community filled with gangs and poverty. But I know now how perfectly capable it is to live together if only we got rid of the stereotype that is so, so wrong. I do hope you accomplish this. This will great for our country.

Sorry but can't share the name

12/7/22, 10:40 AM

Basically I don't know how to react.
All the conservatives should be reading this.........

bottom of page