WtW Review(9).png

Three Ways of Saying The Sun is Setting

by Jayda Brain (Australia)

April 2022

Write the World Review

Audio: "Three Ways of Saying the Sun is Setting," read by Jayda Brain

1
A tall man with a short temper builds himself a sanctuary
out of sweet gums and summer dirt.

He calls it “Golden Hour.”

In June, the cotton fields settle into the hour like a Nun into prayer.
And both the birdcalls and the snail trails drag across the pink sky.

Pollen stuck to his thighs, the man feels
something unnamable growing in his chest;

something that sounds like poetry.

2
An old woman in a new coat doesn’t know
Why mosquitoes and moonflowers

are so afraid of the sun.

Curiosity and covet are twin brothers, so every night in June,
she fills the lining of her stomach with the rotations of dim stars.

And the feeling is more than that of having a beloved, or a
home with a white-picket fence. It’s a religious kind of fruition,

for which dusk is the altar.

3
The sun is setting, a fat blob on a thinning horizon.
It’s taking squirrels and dragonflies with it, too.

Don’t let it take you.



Jayda Brain, 15, is a high school student living near Sydney, Australia. When she's not dealing with jokes about her surname, Jayda likes to read and care for her plants, but doesn't do either of these enough. She was an honorable mention in the “The New York Times” Personal Narrative Contest.

#Environment          #Nature

Are you a young writer who wants to be published in Write the World Review, or is there a young writer in your life (relative, friend) who should be published in Write the World Review? Learn how here!

Satta matka - 7389296790 India single jodi

5/18/22, 11:43 PM

Fix Kalyan matka jodi penal ke liye call kare and join us at <a href="https://indianmatka.today/">Satta matka</a>

Alefiya

5/17/22, 4:27 PM

Beautiful

Sweety

5/16/22, 11:40 AM

I am waiting with anxiety what does she doesto fight back these things which are very complicate to handle for a teenager...... I am Very anxious because I am in the same situation..... So I want to know what will she do.....

Somma

5/15/22, 3:16 PM

This is such a wonderful piece. I love it so much!

Rain Wind Thunderstorm

5/13/22, 10:46 AM

You are really good at writing. And at such a young age! If you don't mind me saying so, your writing style is warm and cozy. And also at the same time, very deep, meaningful and relatable. I especially loved the "The Reflection" part.

Sierra

5/13/22, 9:28 AM

I really wanna know what does she does to fight back these things which are hard to handle for a teenager.

Mira

5/11/22, 2:37 PM

I loved every word of this. Maybe because I am relating too hard. I hardly possess any of the love or filial piety I am expected to have towards my family. I am dubious of anything my grandmother says to me and have long learned to just swallow it all with a smile though I question how much I know. And. Just. Knowing. That you will be forgotten by your extended family for the rest of the year but still held up to their expectations. Thank you for writing this! I'll always remember a beautiful #ownvoices story :).

Srishti Roy

5/10/22, 6:57 AM

I really am curious about how she is gonna fight this situation and will she be able to fulfill her dreams which she once had

Alena

5/6/22, 2:03 PM

Ooh I really love this! What a great ending too. Fellow students, we've got this!

Alena

5/6/22, 1:53 PM

I love this piece so much. Novels and writing rarely makes me cry, but this was just too relatable.

Alena

5/6/22, 1:51 PM

This was so beautiful, and created such a detailed image in my mind!

glitterdays

5/6/22, 11:35 AM

I thought that was a truly insightful piece. As a teen writer myself, your words were a refreshing reminder of the meaning behind adolescence. Thank you for bringing your writing into the world, and hope to see more of it soon.