WtW Review(9).png

To Everyone (and the future most likely)

by Ryder Kereopa (Australia)

April 2022

Write the World Review

Audio: "To Everyone (and the future most likely)," read by Ryder Kereopa

Hear the clock ticking down the hours
until the end’s upon the flowers
and all the grass that takes this world.

“Stop writing, leave yourself unheard.”

The rhythm, rhyme, that surely stop—
we’re looking past the wretched clocks
and know we’re diving into hell.

“Sit down and just enjoy the bells.”

You think this poem will preserve the breeze,
preserve the dark and oaky trees,
the snakes that like to bicker, hiss

“We're stopping you, please don't do this.”

Write your emotions, fears, beliefs,
engrave them onto paper sheets.
Fight the abyss others often gaze

“Enjoy the light these stars have made.”



Ryder Kereopa, 15, is from Perth, Australia. He enjoys writing poetry, performing arts, and playing board games. When he isn't watching movies, he's probably doing something else (like finding movies to watch).

#Climate Change          #Environment          #Nature

Are you a young writer who wants to be published in Write the World Review, or is there a young writer in your life (relative, friend) who should be published in Write the World Review? Learn how here!

Tom Lofft

9/24/22, 2:13 PM

Was this inspired by flights over Iceland?

Sydney

9/24/22, 10:04 AM

Amazing. I love it.

Allison

9/23/22, 7:34 AM

This is just so good!!!! "The air has been poisoned' I love how you describe things! Congrats :))

Allison

9/23/22, 7:32 AM

Love the message! The way you prompt the readers to rethink over 'is anything free' is so effective and the ending is...gorgeous.

Allison

9/23/22, 7:30 AM

Gosh, Antara...this is really beautiful! I love your use of language, and the anecdotes were so effective!! Congrats so much :))

Nidhi Kamalapurkar

9/22/22, 9:30 PM

I love it! Especially the part where you say if humans can control the world, they can control themselves too!
Keep up the brilliant writing!

Evelyn

9/22/22, 5:22 PM

Poignant and so beautifully written!

Evelyn

9/22/22, 5:19 PM

I love the flow, this is gorgeously written! Great piece!

Evelyn

9/22/22, 5:17 PM

Life really is all about the little things and you wrote about them in a beautiful way!

Evelyn

9/22/22, 5:16 PM

This is a lovely piece, Keren-Happuch! It provokes such a magical and dreamy feeling.

VM

9/19/22, 5:47 PM

Oh my god, the part about changing the mindset given the pre-existing beliefs drilled in by those around us... Even we often hesitate to have these conversations at times amongst friends as this topic is seldom more than a subject of twss jokes. You put it into words brilliantly!

Avisha M

9/17/22, 6:46 PM

this was thought-provoking! I particularly enjoyed how you connected existentialism to the topic. it provides a different perspective.